Guru Angad Dev Veterinary And Animal Sciences University
ਗੁਰੂ ਅੰਗਦ ਦੇਵ ਵੈਟਨਰੀ ਐਂਡ ਐਨੀਮਲ ਸਾਇੰਸਜ਼ ਯੂਨੀਵਰਸਿਟੀ

You are viewing:      


Annual Athletic Meet of Vet Varsity Concludes

February 20

The 14th Annual Athletic meet of Guru Angad Dev Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (GADVASU) was held today on 20th February, 2020. Dr. Satyavan Rampal, Director Student Welfare informed that students of all the Colleges situated in the

GADVASU Campus namely College of Veterinary Science, College of Dairy Science and Technology, College of Fisheries, College of Animal Biotechnology, Veterinary Polytechnic, Kaljharani (Bathinda) and affiliated Colleges of university i.e Khalsa College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Amritsar and Baba Hira Dass Ji College of Veterinary Pharmacy were actively participated in this athletic meet under different disciplines. Dr Amarjit Singh Nanda, Vice-Chancellor, GADVASU inaugurated the meet. After unfurling the flag, Dr Nanda told that GADVASU always promote the spirit of games amongst

their students to keep them healthy and in high spirit. He appreciated the various committee members’ efforts in conducting the successful meet and appreciated the participants. Senior retiree alumni members of the varsity also attended the meet with great charm and happiness. The sports torch was being lighted by senior athletes of the university. The meet started with the oath taking ceremony by Alamjit Singh senior athlete of the university. After inauguration, athlete march was performed. Alamjit Singh (boys) and Amninder Kaur (girls) were declared best athlete. Overall trophy was won by College of Veterinary Science. Runners Up Trophy was won by Khalsa

College of veterinary and animal sciences, Amritsar. At the prize distribution function Dr. Baljit Singh Gill, Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Calgary (Canada) was Chief Guest. He said that sports improve the health and confidence of students. It promotes good habits and inculcates better values in a person. He gave away the prizes to the winners and told them to do more hard work to excel in their respective fields. About 200 students participated in the meet. Dr APS Brar, Organizing Secretary shared the annual sports report of university. Dr P N Dwivedi

extended thanks to the whole family of GADVASU and congratulated the winners. On this occasion the faculty members, staff members and students of the GADVASU were there to buck up the athletes. PAU faculty and employees were also attended the event to encourage the students. A spectacular horse show was also an add on attraction of the function.



100 Mt. (Men)         1. Alamjit Singh 2. Prince Kamboj 3.Prabhujiv Singh

110 Mt. Hurdles: (Men)         1. Prince Kamboj2. Alamjit Singh 3. Harshit Khanna

Javelin Throw(Men)         1. Alamjit Singh 2. Avtar Singh Sohi 3. Maninder Singh  Gill

5,000Mt. (Men)   1. Hargun Singh 2. Saurav Kameria 3. Gursimran Singh

400Mt. Hurdles (Men)  1. Prabhujeev Singh 2. Prince Kamboj 3. Saurav Kameria

800Mt. (Men)              1. Gursimran Singh 2. Hargun Singh 3. Saurav Kameria

Triple Jump (Men)   1.Naveen Kumar 2. Priince Kamboj 3. Saurav Kameria 

High Jump  (Men)    1. Sarthak Sharma 2. Harshit Khanna 3. Alam Brar  

Shot Put   (Men)      1. Alamjit singh  2. Avtar Singh Sohi 3. Sahibjot Singh

Broad Jump (Men)        1. Alamjit Singh 2. Jaskaranjit Singh 3. Naveen Kumar

Javelin Throw (women) 1. Amninder Kaur 2. Anu 3.Tarunpreet

1500 Mt. (women)     1. Srishti  2. Kamalpreet Kaur. 3.Shubhpreet Kaur

800 Mt. (Women)          1. Rajpreet Kaur 2. Supriya Kamboj 3. Srishti

100 Mt. (Women)      1. Amninder Kaur 2.Kamalpreet Kaur 3. Rajbir Kaur

200Mt. (Women)         1. Rajbir Kaur 2. Kamalpreet Kaur 3. Akshita

Broad Jump (Women)    1. Amninder Kaur 2. Shubhpreet Kaur 3. Rajbir Kaur

High Jump (Women)     1. Rajbir Kaur  2. Gurleen Kaur  (Srishti) 3.Aditi Gandotra

Shot Put (Women)     1. Amninder Kaur 2. Mandeep Kaur Gill 3. Akshita

Discus Throw (Men) 1. Gurbir Singh 2. Avtar Singh Sohi  3. Alamjit Singh

Discus Throw (Women) 1. Amninder Kaur  2. Srishti 3. Akshita

400 Mt. (Women)      1. Guneet Kaur 2. Rajbir Kaur 3.Anu

400 Mt. (Men)            1. Gursimran Singh 2. Prince Kamboj 3. Rtunjay

4x400 Mt. (Men)        1. College of Dairy Science and Technology 2. College of Veterinary Science 3. Khalsa College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences

4x100 Mt. (Women)  1. College of Veterinary Science 2. College of Fisheries 3. Khalsa College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences

1500 Mt. (Men)          1. Hargun Singh 2. Gagandeep Singh 3. Rtunjay

3km (Men)  1. Hargun Singh 2. Gurbir Singh 3. Chahat Arora

3km (Women)  1. Manpreet Bedi 2. Arzoo 3. Tanashu

University Colour was also awarded to best students of different fields. Their names are as under:-

Gurjot Singh, Bhatri Raj

Back Print